so what, i’m sensitive.

I am highly sensitive.

I feel deeply. I overthink sometimes, okay a lot of the time. I love hard. I am emotional. I feel every word, every action and all the energy that surrounds me.

At one point in my life, I was ashamed of this.

I was ashamed, that a song, book, conversation could touch my heart in such a way that would bring tears to my eyes. In a way that would make my heart smile, ache, give me goosebumps.  I was ashamed that I felt so deeply for things that others did not.

But now I embrace this.

I stand strong and proud of the sensitive being I am.

It allows me to love deeply. To love all those important in my life, deeply.

If you enter my life, if you let me in, I promise to love and care for you. To be there to listen, to empathize or sympathize with you. To offer advice, or guide you to those who can give you the best advice. I promise to support you.

Being sensitive allows me to open my heart to those who need it most. I may not always have the answer, I may not always know the right things to say, but I will try my hardest to be there for you. To hold you when you need to be held and to give you space when you need space.

I am honest.

As a sensitive person I am honest, sometimes too honest. I wear my heart on my sleeve. I offer my true thoughts. I do not hide how I am feeling. If you ask for my opinion, I give it. Because I truly believe that being honest is the best way to show someone they can trust you. To show a person they can turn to you and you will tell them what they need to hear whether that may be good or bad.

I notice too much. I feel too intensely. I pay attention to all that is around me. I pick up on cues that most hope will go unnoticed and others choose to ignore.

I apologize. Second guess. Question.

I never stop doing the above three things.

Because while I will not apologize for who I am, I do understand that this can be overwhelming for others. I will ask too many questions, apologize a thousand times and second guess that thought I shared with you. I do all this because I am aware of the emotions and behaviours of others. I am aware that while I may want a response to these, others do not, they do not need a response or understand the need for one.

Being sensitive means that I understand I am not perfect, I understand others will not get it.

But it also means that I will love you with every ounce of my being. I would do anything for those I care about.

It means that I have a heart of gold.

I will love hard, dream wide and experience deeply. Being sensitive means I am strong.

It means that I am willing to give you my heart and accept that I will not receive yours in return. Being sensitive means I am okay with this.

Never be ashamed of being sensitive. Be PROUD. You are strong, you are willing to love, to care, to let in people who may not even know you exist.

This shows your true colours. It shows the world the wonderful human being you are. You are special. There are few of you out there, and you are still willing to be you and love strangers because your soul will not allow any different.

Embrace this amazing trait and strive to shine and expose this to all.

Being sensitive doesn’t mean you are weak. It doesn’t mean you are damaged. It means you love intensely, think deeply and embrace the touchy-feely that most repulse.

Above all, be proud of who you. Whether you are sensitive or “anti”- sensitive. Be proud of the person you are and accept those that are DIFFERENT then you. It takes all kinds to make this world the place it is. We must accept and embrace each other.

And last, but not least, never forget to love. Sensitive or not, always love.

XOXO,

wearing my heart on my sleeve.

Leave a Reply

